top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarnie

Donut Cake!



I recently discovered the joy of homemade donuts. I love how creative I can get with them, and all the varieties I can make! And these donuts are light, fluffy and delicious! My favorite way to make them is filled with creamy delights like lemon curd, dulce de leche, coconut cream, and good old-fashioned jelly.


My husband loves these donuts so much he asked for a donut cake for his birthday, and who am I to refuse that fun challenge? I made 18 filled donuts and assembled them on a cake stand. Here's what I made (recipes below):

  • Coconut cream with coconut glaze and flaked coconut

  • Lemon curd with lemon glaze and yellow sugar

  • Raspberry jelly with vanilla glaze and red sugar (I used store-bought seedless jelly)


Recipes

Note: Make sure to refrigerate the donuts until you're ready to serve them.


Donuts - Get my donut recipe here and you can fill it with whatever you want!


Lemon Curd - recipe here


Coconut Cream


Ingredients

  • 2 pkg (3 oz.) coconut cream instant pudding

  • 1 TSP coconut extract

  • 3 1/2 cups cold milk

Instructions: Whisk all of the ingredients together and refrigerate for at least 10 minutes.


Glaze


Dip the donuts in the glaze and let sit for a few minutes on a cooling rack until the glaze is set. If adding coconut or other toppings, dip the glazed donut in them (use a pie plate or regular plate) immediately after glazing.


Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup whole milk or coffee creamer

  • 2 cups powdered sugar, sifted

  • 1 TSP extract (use anyone you like - vanilla, lemon, coconut, maple)

  • For chocolate: add 3 TBS unsweetened cocoa powder

Instructions: Whisk all of the ingredients together in a medium bowl, that's it!


Colored Sugar


Combine 1/4 cup granulated sugar and 1-2 drops (or to your liking) of gel food coloring in a plastic baggie. Seal tightly and shake until combined.


Enjoy!









Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page