top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarnie

Apple and Frangipane Tart (from Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat)



If you haven't heard of Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat or Samin Nosrat, I'm happy to be the one to introduce you. She is an author and columnist, chef, and podcast queen. My best friend bought me her book Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat last year and it's truly been eye-opening. Not like any other cooking/cookbook I've ever seen. Not only are there amazing recipes (like this one!) but she offers so many techniques and just pure knowledge that it will blow you away. She also has a podcast and a documentary on Netflix that you should check out.


So yesterday I had some time on my hands (and you need a LOT of time to make this, but it's worth it) so I endeavored to make this tart. I've never been very good at drawing perfect circles and I guess the same goes for making dough. :) However, it tastes amazing, and that's what matters. And I've never made frangipane before, but if you love almonds as much as I do - you'll love this more. Frangipane is a sweet almond custard and it's delicious.


I took Samin's suggestion to give it a herringbone design so I took half of the apples (perfectly and easily sliced with my mandoline) in the recipe and soaked them for 3 hours in burgundy wine with a couple cinnamon sticks to give them that beautiful purple/red color and rich flavor. I'm not one to waste food (or wine!) so I reserved the wine, added more apple slices and ginger ale and hello sangria!



Being the dessert lover that I am, I had to add some vanilla ice cream (though cinnamon ice cream would have been so good with this) and homemade salted caramel to the tart. This really made it.



So, readers - meet Samin. You're welcome.

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page